Rivera, Halladay Headline 2019 Baseball Hall Of Fame First-Year Nominees
Monday, November 19, 2018 at 07:13PM
NYSportsJournalism.com in Baseball Hall of Fame, MLB, MLB

NYSJ Sports-Entertainment Business News Service

November 19, 2019: The Baseball Hall of Fame nominees for the Class of 2019 were unveiled today, including 20 players on the Baseball Writers Association of America ballot for the first time.

The election results will be unveiled Jan. 22, live on MLB Network.

Those elected will be inducted on Sunday, July 21 in the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, NY.

On the ballot for the first time:

Rick Ankiel, Jason Bay, Lance Berkman, Freddy Garcia, Jon Garland, Travis Hafner, Roy Halladay, Todd Helton, Ted Lilly, Derek Lowe, Darren Oliver, Roy Oswalt, Andy Pettitte, Juan Pierre, Placido Polanco, Mariano Rivera, Miguel Tejada, Vernon Wells, Kevin Youkilis and Michael Young.

Halliday would be inducted posthumously, having passed away in November 2017 in a plane accident.

The BBWAA has elected at least two Hall of Fame candidates in five straight years and a total of 16 candidates during that time.

No five-year period in history has resulted in as many BBWAA electees, with the previous high of 13 coming in the five-year period from 1952-56. according to the Hall of Fame.

That was also the last time the BBWAA elected at least two candidates five years in a row.

Any candidate who receives votes on 75 percent of all ballots cast will earn election to the Hall of Fame.

Fifteen retired players return to the 2019 BBWAA ballot after receiving at least five percent of the overall vote in 2017.

Among returnees on the BBWAA ballot, Edgar Martinez, who received 70.4% of the vote in 2018, makes his tenth and final appearance on the BBWAA ballot this year, as does Fred McGriff (23.2%).

• Edgar Martínez 70.4% 10th year
• Mike Mussina 63.5% 6th year
• Roger Clemens 57.3% 7th year
• Barry Bonds 56.4% 7th year
• Curt Schilling 51.2% 6th year
• Omar Vizquel 37% 2nd year
• Larry Walker 34.1% 9th year
• Fred McGriff 23.2% 10th year
• Manny Ramírez 22% 3rd year
• Jeff Kent 14.5% 6th year
• Gary Sheffield 11.1% 5th year
• Billy Wagner 11.1% 4th year
• Scott Rolen 10.2% 2nd year
• Sammy Sosa 7.8% 7th year
• Andruw Jones 7.3% 2nd year

Back to Home Page

Article originally appeared on NYSportsJournalism.com (http://www.nysportsjournalism.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.